Past Programmes

Martyred populations

Boat people, 1981. Girls and women raped, tortured, thrown into the sea. Creation of the International Committee Against Piracy. Guatemala, 1983. Girls raped, adults massacred, Indians annihilated. To feed, treat and clothe the orphans, as well as the big girls who no longer have to prostitute themselves to survive.

Guatemala
India
Rwanda
Vietnam

The world’s forgotten ones

Little old men and women, completely destitute. A population forgotten for centuries: food, medical care, support for schooling. Little old lady living alone at home: coal for her stove in winter. A young paraplegic woman living with her sick mother: the wherewithal to improve her daily life. Alerted to their distress, how can we pass them by?

Colombia
Palestinian territories
Poland
Russia
Togo

Infanticide

In the South of India, many children are sacrificed at birth, especially girls. Because they «cost too much" in traditional ceremonies, clothes, jewellery, and then the dowry, often an unbearable amount for the poor and the family-in-law will demand additions to this throughout her life. To save from death the little girl ready to be killed at birth, then give her the means to live.

India

The Princesses

Guilty or having had, or been forced to have, intimate relations that their milieu condemns, young girls or women are persecuted or killed "to avenge family honour". Rejected by their families and by society, they have the choice of suicide, infanticide or prostitution. Saving these martyrs and welcoming them to other lands.

United Arab Emirates
India
Iran
Lebanon
Nigeria
Palestinian territories

The Aurores

Aurore, from the name of the first woman who came to tell us that she would like to change her "profession": the most terrifying and primitive form of prostitution for survival. Close accompaniment, infinite patience. Various forms of help, professional training. Nurseries for the little ones, food, healthcare, protection and tenderness.

Colombia
India
Madagascar
Portugal
Tunisia

The Trokosi slaves

Trokosi: a young virgin offered to the god of a sanctuary in atonement for a fault committed by a member of her family, who would otherwise be forever cursed. In reality, she is handed over to the priest of this sanctuary, who will use her sexually as he wishes for many years, or her whole life. Negotiations with a view to the definitive liberation of about forty of the little girls were brought to a satisfactory conclusion.

Ghana

Abducted children

Children abducted by one of their parents. In spite of laws that give custody of the child to one or the other. Attempt everything to bring the child back to the parent who cries for him all his life. The powerlessness, the slowness or the lack of courage of the powers that be made our help necessary, often effective, to the parent and to the child martyr.

 

Children victims of paedophiles

This is not prostitution born by chance from the passage of foreigners, but the commercial transport of tourists who are sexual consumers of children by organised groups of western paedophiles. Warnings to tourists on their arrival. The search for and dismantling of paedophile organisations.

Nepal

Child soldiers

In 1983, during the assault on Iraq, Iranian child soldiers were driven forward to be massacred in order to open the way for the main body of the army. Thousands of them died. Hundreds of others became prisoners of the Iraqis. Sentinelles negotiated the liberation of about a hundred of these children, inviting several Islamic countries to take them in on a temporary basis.

Iran
Irak

Little maids

They are six or seven years old and more. They come from the country, from poor parents who give their little girl "a chance" by placing her in town. Doing the housework, the cooking, getting up early, going to bed late. And when they grow up, putting up with the men of the house. Pregnant, they are thrown out. Emotional support, food aid, professional training.

Colombia
India
Madagascar
Portugal

Children of the rubbish dump

All day long women, men and children pick up and sort through the recyclable refuse that they can sell for a few réals. Sentinelles worked to free these children by giving them the means: food, medical treatment, a crèche, schooling and professional training for the older ones.

Brazil

Child coal miners

The freeing of these slave children, subterranean beasts of burden, in danger at all times of the mine collapsing on them, exploding or catching fire, risking their lives for a starvation wage, was negotiated with their parents. Hundreds of them were given back their childhood, with the means to have the decent life due to them: food, medical care, schooling, a profession and the means to practise it.

Colombia

Sexual mutilation and forced marriage

With a knife, a stone, a razorblade, a piece of glass, in a festive atmosphere or in terror, millions of little girls and adolescents are sexually mutilated. Ignorant, consenting or by force. Whatever the mutilation practised, there is suffering, even agony, and always an attack on human integrity. When it does not lead to death. The survivors, not yet completely developed, are more often than not married by force.

Taking the young girls who do not want to submit to this to safety and long-term accompaniment to keep them out of harm's way and preserve their integrity. Medical care and surgical procedures when necessary. Raising awareness with the parents and communities, as well as in schools.

Kenya

Anciens Programmes

Les populations martyres

Boat People, 1981. Chaque jour, des filles et des femmes sont violées, torturées, jetées à la mer. Création du Comité international contre la piraterie. Guatemala 1983. Filles violées, adultes massacrés, Indiens anéantis. Nourrir, soigner et habiller les orphelins, ainsi que les grandes filles qui n’ont plus à se prostituer pour survivre.

Guatemala
Inde
Rwanda
Vietnam

Les oubliés du monde

Petits vieux complètement démunis, population oubliée depuis des siècles: aliments, soins, soutien scolaire. Petite vieille vivant seule chez elle: du charbon pour son poêle en hiver. Jeune femme paraplégique vivant avec sa mère malade: de quoi améliorer son quotidien. Alertés sur leur détresse, comment passer au large d’eux?

Colombie
Palestine
Pologne
Russie
Togo

L’infanticide des filles

En Inde du Sud, de nombreux enfants sont sacrifiés à leur naissance, des filles surtout. Parce qu’elles «coûtent cher» en cérémonies traditionnelles, habits, bijoux, et puis la dot, d’un montant souvent insoutenable pour les pauvres. Sauver de la mort la petite fille bonne à tuer à sa naissance, puis donner à sa vie les moyens de la vie.

Inde

Les Princesses

Coupables d’avoir entretenu ou subi des relations intimes que leur milieu réprouve, des jeunes filles ou des femmes sont persécutées ou tuées «en vengeance de l’honneur familial». Rejetées de leur famille et de la société, elles ont pour choix le suicide, l’infanticide ou la prostitution. Sauver ces martyres et les recueillir sur d’autres terres.

Émirats arabes unis
Inde
Iran
Liban
Nigeria
Palestine

Les Aurores

Aurore, du nom de la première femme venue nous dire qu’elle aimerait changer de «métier». La plus terrifiante et la plus primitive prostitution de survie. Accompagnement fraternel, infiniment patient. Aides diverses, formation professionnelle. Crèche pour les petits, nourriture, soins, protection et tendresse.

Colombie
Inde
Madagascar
Portugal
Tunisie

Les filles et femmes esclaves de trokosi

Trokosi: fille vierge offerte au dieu d’un sanctuaire en réparation d’une faute commise par un membre de sa famille. En réalité: elle est livrée au prêtre de ce sanctuaire qui en dispose sexuellement à son gré des années durant ou sa vie entière. Des négociations en vue de la libération définitive d’une quarantaine de petites ont pu être menées à bien.

Ghana

Les enfants enlevés

Enfants enlevés par l’un de leurs parents. En dépit des lois qui confient la garde de l’enfant à l’une ou à l’autre. Tout tenter pour ramener l’enfant à celle ou celui qui le pleure pour la vie. L’impuissance, les lenteurs ou le manque de courage des pouvoirs responsables imposaient notre aide, souvent efficace, au parent et à l’enfant martyrs.

 

Les enfants victimes de pédophiles

Ce n’est pas une prostitution née au hasard du passage d’étrangers, mais l’envoi mercantile et organisé de touristes consommateurs d’enfants, par des centrales de pédophiles occidentaux. Mise en garde des touristes dès leur l’arrivée. Recherche et démantèlement d’organisations pédophiles.

Népal

Les enfants soldats

En 1983, à l’assaut de l’Irak, des enfants soldats iraniens ont été jetés au massacre afin d’ouvrir la route au gros de ses armées. Des milliers d’entre eux en sont morts. Des centaines d’autres sont prisonniers des forces irakiennes. Sentinelles a négocié la libération d’une centaine de ces enfants, en conviant plusieurs pays islamiques à les accueillir temporairement.

Iran
Irak

Les petites bonnes

Elles ont six, sept ans, et plus. Elles viennent de la campagne, de parents pauvres qui «donnent sa chance» à leur petite en la plaçant en ville. Faire le ménage, la cuisine, se lever tôt et se coucher tard. Et, quand elles grandissent, subir les hommes de la maison. Enceintes, elles sont chassées. Soutien affectif, aide alimentaire, formation professionnelle.

Colombie
Inde
Madagascar
Portugal

Les enfants de la décharge

Toute la journée, femmes, hommes et enfants ramassent et trient les déchets recyclables qu’ils revendent pour quelques sous. Sentinelles a travaillé à la libération de ces enfants, en leur donnant les moyens: nourriture, soins, crèche, scolarisation, formation professionnelle pour les plus grands.

Brésil

Les enfants mineurs de charbon

La libération de ces enfants esclaves, bêtes de charge souterraines exposées à chaque instant à ce que la mine leur tombe dessus, explose ou prenne feu, risquant leur vie pour un salaire de misère, a été négocié avec leurs parents. Des centaines d’entre eux ont été rendus à leur enfance, avec les moyens d’une vie respirable et due: nourriture, soins, école, un métier, et de quoi l’exercer.

Colombie

Les mutilations sexuelles et mariages forcés

Au couteau, à la pierre, lame de rasoir, morceau de verre, dans une atmosphère de fête ou de terreur, des millions de fillettes, adolescentes, sont sexuellement mutilées. Inconscientes, consentantes ou de force. Quelle que soit la mutilation pratiquée, il y a souffrance, supplice même, et atteinte à l’intégrité humaine, quand ce n’est pas la mort. Les survivantes, pas encore complètement formées, sont le plus souvent mariées de force.

Mise à l’abri des jeunes filles qui ne veulent pas s’y soumettre et accompagnement durable propre à préserver leur sécurité et leur intégrité. Soins médicaux et interventions chirurgicales, si nécessaire. Sensibilisation des parents et des communautés, ainsi que dans les écoles.

Kenya